Crispy Triangles- Taken in my car while driving to school
Wounded Warrior- Taking before stairs in front of Degeta building
  1. The first photo, A wounded Warrior, had a very intentional food choice of fruit roll ups. I chose this to simulate the cloth used on injuries especially in war. But the, Crispy Triangles, photo wasn’t intentional and was ever Rome was eating at that moment, this adds to the realness and the emotion felt in his face. 
  2. Both photos are taken during the day. I think this helps add a lot more to the contrast of color and white an black. As for the mood It was a challenge to darken the photo and thus the mood of my Wounded Warrior photo as I wanted a darker message being portrayed. As for Crispy Triangles the early morning light really helps convey a lighter and happier mood compared to my other photo. 
  3. In my first photo I use the composition technique of filling the frame as Sam takes up most of the space drawing the focus to his face. In my second photo I chose diagonal lines as I wanted just a little angling in the photo to make it more unique. I also did this to help make the photo more focused on Rome eating instead of the interior of the car. 
  4. The color and splash techniques in both my photos draw the eyes to the main subject, the food and its interaction with my subjects. For my first photo the coloring of the fruit roll up and the dark surroundings help to resemble the realistic aspect of war and a wounded warrior. As for my second photo, the color splash of the bag and the chip grab the viewer’s attention and are pleasing to the eye.
  5.  For my second photo I used fields of depth to blur the roads through the window this created a sense of movement in the photo. Another technique I used was Rule of Thirds for my second photo where Rome is on the third line which gives space to the rest of the photo. As for my first photo, focus is used to center the photo around Sam’s face and to unfocus his arms. 
  6. I think some advice for future students is to think outside of the box on what you’re doing with the food or what position the person is in. Another tip is to always focus the camera on the face of the person. Finally when editing the photo make the person pop out you can do this via color splash and cropping. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *