Subtraction and Abstraction

Oil + Water + food coloring
Glassy Shadows
Mount. Refraction
Sunlight Beads

 

Reflection Questions

  1. The distinct mood of my photos is a dark and mysterious mood where you don’t understand what is going on. This can be seen in my oil and water photo where the black and white stand out. There is also the contrast between the uniform circles and chaotic bubbles of oil that contribute to the mood of chaos and order spark emotions of intensity and confusion. 
  2. The photo makes me think about biology. The movement and natural habitat of cells doing the things to keep you alive. The photo also makes me think about how particles move in air and how things flow in water and the chaotic aspect of that movement that is unpredictable. 
  3. What jumps out at me is the oil circle in the middle that disrupts the flow of the food coloring. This circle in the center also feels untouchable like a one-way mirror or a magnifying glass. This magnifying aspect also enhances the contrast between the black water and white color moving throughout the photo. 
  4. My oil and water photo makes me feel curious. It reminds me of cells and biology, one of my favorite subjects and thus sparks curiosity. On top of this the black and white in the photo makes you question what you are looking at as it’s almost impossible to tell that it’s just oil and water and has a somewhat magical or mysterious feeling.
  5. I would give the advice of doing the first thing that comes to your mind. This will allow you to take full advantage of the abstract art aspect as abstract art is something that is best done without thought. Another piece of advice I would give would be to keep trying many different angles, aspects, and materials in order to find a really good photo. 

2 thoughts on “Subtraction and Abstraction

  1. What I like about Noels piece is the tip of the Moutian is not included in the refraction and that you are cleary able to see it. The fog above the mountain tip also made for a really good image. One other thing I liked about his image is how he made it so the edges were darker, and as you look more towards the middle, the darkness slowly goes away. For me, this makes it much more pleasant and easy to look at it.
    One thing that I found could be better in the photo is how off centerd it is. From first glance, you do not notice it, but as you focus on the photo more, youre able to see that the mountain is not completely centerd to the apple. I dont not know if this was his intentions, but I think the photo would be complete if you were able to center that mountain.
    For the next time, all I would say is just center the mountain, so that the tip was centerd to the apple. I know that assemerty sometimes will make a photo look better, but not in this case, and that making your photo center would bring this photo the next level.

  2. My favorite thing about this photo is how ominous and mysterious it looks. The black and white, perfectly captures the wonder and ominous feelings the audience gets when witnessing the photo. I don’t even know what I’m looking at when I look at the photo but I just know that it looks creepy and gives me a feeling of wonder.
    One thing in the photo that I think could be better, is that there seems to be some magnifying circle in the middle. I’m not sure what the purpose of the circle is or if it just came when you took the photo, but I think it would be better to retouch it. If you could somehow edit out that circle it would be really good.
    Not necessarily advice for the picture I critiqued, but simply overall, I think you could benefit from a little extra creativity. Being creative and random could really help to get a good picture. Overall though the photos were great, and I could tell you put a lot of work into the photos.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *